Year 1 part 1

After an amazing student teaching semester, I decided to take a position at the junior high despite it not being the position I wanted.  

I have been teaching 6th grade resource math and 8th grade resource ELA.  The Sped aspect of these classes completely scared me.  However, I was promised one on one assistance from the sped data manager.  Never believe the lies they feed you when you are offered a job.  

I have struggled with the sped paperwork but it’s doable.  With a lot of added stress!!!  But this isn’t going to be me trying to scare you off.

I LOVE my kids, my job, and knowing that I am serving a purpose.  

I am thankful for the friendships that I have made this year, especially the one with an amazing 6th grade social studies teacher.  She has been a sounding board for my frustrations, a cheerleader for my innovations, an inspiration for many lessons, and more than a mentor on several occasions.  

My advice to new teachers, and yes I know I’m only half way through my first year, is to find someone you can confide in during the good times and the bad.  This person will be one of your most valuable resources.  And always find at least one reason to laugh.  You are going to have days where it seems nothing goes right, but even on those days if you look hard enough your students will give you a reason to laugh.  

Love your kids and let them know they are the reason you are there.  

Treat your kids with respect and don’t allow other teachers or administrators views of your kids affect the way you see them.  For instance, I have a student that other teachers have bad mouthed an labeled lazy.  However, he always finishes my assignments.  I praise him for the great work that he does.  There have been days when he was unmotivated but instead of fussing at him I discussed the importance of the assignment and went as far as to tell him that reading his work is one of the highlights of my day.  

However, this does not apply to all students.  Learning to modify my classroom for my students has meant abandoning most of the ideas I entered into this school year with.  

Most importantly don’t try to be someone else, embrace your flaws and use your weaknesses to remind students that we are all works in progress.  

Be blessed 

Just Keep Swimming!

Leave a comment